Bridging Two Worlds

A conversation about online media and what it means to your organization

Facebook Policy And The CBC

Posted by B2W on September 9, 2008

Post by: Ruth Atherley of AHA Creative Strategies

I just received an email from a pal at the CBC. She sent me a link  to their blog, which talks about the CBC’s Facebook policy. It opens an interesting topic about what social media policy should or could be … and what social media means to journalists. Sites like Facebook let us see (sometimes too much) into the personal lives of people – friends, colleagues, employees, bosses and journalists.

What do these types of sites mean on a professional level. If I am friendly with a reporter, a colleague or a client they “ask” to be a friend on Facebook, do I say yes? Or no. And is being “friends” with potential sources on Facebook a bad idea for a reporter? 

It’s an interesting topic and one, I think, that will continue to be of interest for many organizations – including mainstream media.

2 Responses to “Facebook Policy And The CBC”

  1. BD said

    The real estate company I work for highly suggested I bulk up my facebook page as a form of organic marketing. Now not only am I “friends” with all the people I work with, I am also “friends” with all the people I graduated highschool with (and haven’t seen in a decade). To combat the urge to barf, I posted a tasteful but shirtless picture of myself laughing with my son. Showing some nipple seemed like the thing to do. No business has been generated as of yet. Needless to say, I know what my answer would be if I could go back in time. There must be a separation between church and state.

  2. B2W said

    BD – thanks for the post. There is a great deal of discussion happening in organizations about social media and online policy. I think it is challenging for both employees and employers when it comes to developing a mutually agreed upon, respectful policy that outlines the ground rules of how to behave online when it comes to things that could reflect on you or your organization professionally. Without your buy in to the organic marketing approach (and I have to ask how organic it is when it seems like you didn’t want to do this), it isn’t very authentic. It’s certainly something to think about.

    Ruth

Leave a Reply

 
